top of page

The Debate: Is Honey Vegan?

Veganism has become a new trend all around the US over the last few years. Most people are still confused on the difference between a vegetarian and a vegan. Simply put, vegetarians don’t eat meat directly, but vegans won’t eat anything that had to do with an animal. Vegetarians (typically) eat eggs, milk, and cheese whereas vegans do not. One food in particular that is a cause for debate is whether or not honey should be considered vegan.

I am vegan and I choose to eat honey, and I understand a lot of vegans consider honey a vegan no-no. I wanted to dig a little deeper into the true definitions. If I was confused as a vegan, I can only imagine how all of the omnivores out there feel. So, let me help break it down.

What we know:

  1. Vegans won’t eat anything derived from an animal.

  2. Insects make up 70% of all animal species (A-Z Animals)

So generally speaking, yes. Honey should be considered non-vegan because it is technically an animal by-product.

However, let’s look at the other side of this argument. Bees naturally make honey, they literally have one job in life and we don’t need to harm them to get it. Actually the opposite, we actually want them to stay alive and healthy to keep making more of it! Yes, bees to work hard during the warmer months to store honey in their beehives for winter food storage. But don’t you know a few hoarders in your life?

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page